Testimonials

Our visitors book is a treasured part of Great Tangley Manor. We are proud to provide a sample of the great testimonials we have recieved over the years.

“Terrific Great Tangly Manor!…”

LittleRet | London

Date of Stay: 2016-05-10. Rated: 5 out of 5.

We recently had the pleasure of spending a weekend at this amazing property – it was perfect!

We were 10 friends that decided to go somewhere special and our choice could not have been better. We loved the gardens, the moat, and every inch of the fabulous house. The kitchen and dining room is well equipped and perfect for entertaining.

The property manager provided superb customer service – every question answered and all our needs catered for.

I would recommend this very reasonably priced property as a fantastic getaway for anyone, and I can’t wait to go there myself again.

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing

Owners response: A fantastic group, we look forward to welcoming you all in the future.

“A Real Tangley Treat…”

Charlie Darling | Westcliff on Sea, Essex, England

Date of Stay: 2016-06-11. Rated: 5 out of 5.

Tangley Manor is a fabulous venue for you whether it be for a quiet retreat or an amazing Party venue as I used it for as a group of 10. The rooms are beautiful and the whole Manor is spotless I couldn’t fault it. I stayed at Tangley for a 3 day weekend, the first evening we had a BBQ party in the courtyard, noise isn’t really a problem we had the music quite loud and from outside of the house you couldn’t hear a thing.

The well equipped kitchen and Giant gas BBQ were more than antiquate and simple to use. The second day we made use of the pool facilities – warm and clean and indoors so our famous English weather wont dampen your fun.

Later that night we had a Murder Mystery Night in the Sumptuous Dining room fit for a Queen using a caterer Nicho suggested at a very reasonable price and the food was Lovely. Sunday we made a roast using the great kitchen again and in the evening hired sumo suits and a mat which we set up in the corner of the garden. The Manager Nicho is very accommodating and helpful as are the owners.

I cant stress enough that the website doesn’t do the Manor and grounds justice it really is beautiful and a pleasure to explore. Every room has so much character and the gardens are magical. The surrounding area has lots of countryside and the main town is a short car ride away if you need to stock up on supplies.

We are already planning our next weekend at Tangley. Thank you to Nicho especially for all his help.

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Sightseeing

“A fantastic venue for a relaxing weekend…”

LauraAW | Kent

Date of Stay: 2016-02-01. Rated: 5 out of 5.

We had a fantastic weekend at Tangley Manor and it was a great venue for relaxing with a group of friends. The house had so much character and there was plenty of room for the 12 of us (6 adults and 6 children).

The property is well maintained and was also very clean throughout. The kitchen is well equipped and the coffee maker was appreciated – especially first thing in the morning! The bedrooms were amazing, each one was unique and the beds were very comfortable.

The website provides an accurate description of the house and facilities, but it really doesn’t do justice to what a fantastic place it is.

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

“A hidden gem…”

HappyCaroline | Reading

Date of Stay: 2016-03-01. Rated: 5 out of 5.

Booking a weekend away for a large group of friends is no easy task. First, finding a venue for 14 adults and a small child within an hour of London. Then ensuring it caters for everyone’s exacting tastes, but within budget. Finally, seeking out that elusive character that makes for a truly memorable weekend. Thankfully, I knew of just such a place.

Having stayed at Great Tangley before, I was looking for an excuse to come back. I am pleased to say that second time round, it did not disappoint. It is a beautiful building, steeped in history, set in magnificent grounds and nestling on the edge of the Surrey Downs, with the requisite number of cosy country pubs in striking distance. The accommodation is immaculate and equipped with an excellent kitchen, perfect for catering for large groups, and a suitably regal dining room in which to savour the fruits of your labours. It is ideal for larger groups of ten or more, as there is plenty of room and ample diversions for a weekend at a leisurely pace. Seek out the signatures of kings etched on the windows, wander the walking routes that criss-cross the Downs on the doorstep, curl up in a comfy armchair in the Arts and Crafts sitting room, feed the fish in the courtyard pond, and marvel at the most outlandish listed bathroom you will have ever had occasion to witness.

If I had to name any drawbacks, they would be the walk to the owners’ wing for those staying in the additional bedrooms (those of a nervous disposition should not entertain ghost stories before bedtime) and the need for cars to get around, but then, you can’t have rural idyll without some compromise.

I am pleased to say that our group had a great time, reveling in the chance to get away from it all and enjoying the opportunity to relax and catch up in such unique surroundings. Oh, and thanks to the owners and their property manager for their cheerful and helpful service, and for allowing the public access to this hidden gem.

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Sightseeing

“Tangley Manor - Great!…”

AndyM | London, UK

Date of Stay: 2016-01-01. Rated: 5 out of 5.

Exactly as described on their web site, the property is a delightful mix of historic manor with modern additions, set in secluded gardens. The quirky and historic nature of the main building certainly give it the edge over previous weekend rentals. It is furnished to a very high standard throughout.

The (modern) kitchen is particularly well equipped and has a large range-style cooker to facilitate a larger group. The striking all-glass extension gives a great place to congregate, overlooking the central courtyard.

Ours was a short stay with a group of friends to celebrate birthdays. We had a fabulous time and didn’t feel at all impeded by the owners living next door. The owners were at all times helpful and welcoming.

The area is particularly well served with good restaurants and hostelries and is within easy reach of beautiful North Downs countryside walks. Own transport is pretty much essential, but there is ample parking.

Our stay was thoroughly enjoyed by our entire group.

Highly recommended!

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Owners response: A Suprise 30th birthday celebration. Andy's wife was very pleasantly suprised. We look forward to welcoming the group back for future events.

“Couldn't recommend highly enough…”

Minx | London

Date of Stay: 2016-01-01. Rated: 5 out of 5.

We arrived at Great Tangley in the dark so I didn’t really see the outside on arrival. But when I walked in the front door it certainly had the wow factor. It was spotlessly clean and had so much space. The house was decorated to a really high standard. The Kitchen and Conservatory were modern and had everything you needed to cook up a storm.

Eating in the huge oak paneled dining room was a real treat. Bedrooms were huge and beautifully finished. The next day I got to see Great Tangley in day light. The gardens were immaculately kept and the moat around the house was fantastic!

I would definitely like to stay here again. One of the best parts is it was only 40 mins by train from central London – yet it feels a different world.

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

“True to its name - The GREAT Tangley Manor…”

Rohit | Burton Upon Trent.

Date of Stay: 2015-12-01. Rated: 5 out of 5.

Before I start talking about the Manor itself and my experience, I want to tell all those who will be reading my review that the website is only but a mere glimpse into this truly amazing place. The website is well designed and it does give you a lot of information with a lot of photos, but the place in itself cannot be described in words and pictures. You have to be there to experience it.

Right from the word go, you have a manager who is very helpful with all the information you require and makes the entire booking process very straight forward. He is very approachable and helpful. In the very rarest of instances, if you cannot contact him, the owners are there to help. So even before you have reached the place you start getting a feel of the high quality of stay and service that you are about to receive.
The property was pristine, well-maintained and tastefully done. I have mentioned in the visitor’s book that it is a perfect marriage between the 1000-year past and the contemporary facilities of the present. In the present world, it is seldom you get such a place to unwind and relax. You can take long walks in the gardens or relax in the lounge – again one lounge where you are lost in the rich and royal past and the other lounge, where you are in the graceful and modern present.

All these words and praises won’t do any justice to The Manor. You have to be there to experience and enjoy it. Without a shadow of doubt, I recommend this to everybody of all age groups who are looking for a fantastic and/or magical time that will turn into memories, which you will cherish for the rest of your life.

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway, People with Disabilities

“A Dream House…”

Michelle | Los Angeles

Date of Stay: 2015-06-22. Rated: 5 out of 5.

The house was a dream come true for us – we had a special, memorable time there. The house was very comfortable, the gardens exceptional and the country-side spectacular. The staff and owners made us feel very welcome and helped in making our family reunion a very special occasion.

“Golden Wedding Anniversary Family Weekend…”

Tony + Marilyn | Farnham Surrey

Date of Stay: 2015-05-10. Rated: 5 out of 5.

Grandparents, 2 Children, 2 Children-in-Law and 4 Grandchildren spent a long weekend celebrating in this wonderful setting. They were joined by 30 friends and relatives from noon on the Sunday. The house and gardens more than lived up to our expectations, the management was most helpful – nothing being any problem – and the weather smiled on us. Caterers recommended by Great Tangley could not have been bettered and even the pub lunch at the nearby Percy Arms proved delightful. A weekend and a superb venue to be very long in the memory. Great Tangley Manor could not be more highly recommended for something very special.

“White Christmas 2010…”

Amanda | New York

Date of Stay: 2014-12-25. Rated: 5 out of 5.

Nicho, the manager, is very pleasant, readily available and helpful with preparation for the visit such as offering information and receiving grocery deliveries. On arrival we were greeted with a welcome sign which was a nice touch. The house more than met expectations, beautiful. The decor was charming and the house very spacious, sufficiently so for large parties to have their own space as and when required. The grounds and country walks were lovely. The pool access due to snow wasn’t the easiest as the ground was slippery and it was a bit of a walk – once in it was very much enjoyed. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, crockery and cutlery and the glass extension a lovely place to eat. All-in-all a lovely stay enjoyed by all.

“Excellent venue for Corporate retreat…”

YPO | UK

Date of Stay: 2012-04-26. Rated: 5 out of 5.

It was the perfect venue for a corporate retreat. Near to London, total privacy, comfortable and well appointed common areas for group meetings, lovely bedrooms, and beautiful grounds. It was exactly what we were after and I would recommend it highly.

Recommended for: Corporate retreats, business meetings

“Great Tangley was a fantastic choice!…”

***** | UK

Date of Stay: 2012-04-04. Rated: 5 out of 5.

We stayed in this amazing manor house for a 70th Birthday & Golden Wedding Anniversary celebration. It was a wonderful surprise for my family who enjoyed it immensely. The property is beautiful and well maintained. It comes complete with all modern services e.g. wi-fi, computer, docks for i-pods, all kitchen appliances etc.

The grounds were beautiful and the tennis court and swimming pool were a lovely bonus for the children. The history of the place is very interesting and the library was wonderful for relaxing in the evening. We used caterers for our Main evening event which worked wonderfully well in the main dining room & the space allowed everyone to find some peace & quiet when needed.

Nicho, who managed our stay, unpacked a delivered shop before we arrived and helped us settle in with a quick tour. This allowed us to get started on our break straight away. The service and support was fantastic.

I would highly recommend this as a special experience – we would love to visit again.

Recommended for: Special occasions

“ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS…”

The Masher family | UK

Date of Stay: 2012-03-27. Rated: 5 out of 5.

We stayed at Great Tangley Manor for My Husband’s 60th Birthday. It was absolutely Gorgeous, the perfect place to stay. The House is amazing and had everything there that we could have wanted. Nobody wanted to leave. Nicho was so friendly and extremely helpfull nothing was too much trouble for him.
We can’t wait to go back there.

Thank you so much Nicho for making the weekend possible for us.

Recommended for: Birthdays, Special Occasions

“Great Stay from Initial Enquiry to Check Out…”

Warren family | UK

Date of Stay: 2012-01-05. Rated: 5 out of 5.

We stayed as a large family group to help out and attend my brother’s wedding at Gate Street Barn.

Nicho was highly accommodating in sorting out the configuration we needed and in welcoming us. All my relatives commented how friendly he was.

Helping set up the church and reception could have been quite stressful time, especially when staying with the in-laws (to be) but Great Tangley Manor provide the space and luxury to break away relax and enjoy the whole stay.

Several guest had special needs but found it easy to get about and sleep in the bedrooms on the ground floor. We had a final dinner for 16 on the Sunday and the house provided a great setting and all the utility to make this a great occasion before we all went our separate ways.

Saving up for next time!

Recommended for: Weddings and special occasions

“Absolutely stunning…”

Reeves family | UK

Date of Stay: 2012-03-10. Rated: 5 out of 5.

The moment we arrived at this venue we were welcomed into this stunning home learning lots of facts about the history of this house along the way. We hired the house as a base for our wedding and quite simply didn’t want to leave, the house is amazing and we were made to feel so welcome. The house was comfortable enough to have both sets of family (11 of us in all) who were equally in awe of this house. The rooms were spectacular and the main master bedroom has the fascinating touch of the master bathroom which we loved. I could go on and on about how wonderful this house is and the team behind making our stay so memorable, but this was truly the best way for us to start our first day of married life. Anyone thinking of booking this house please do not hesitate and book straight away, i am currently trying to find an excuse for us to go back.

Recommended for: Wedding accommodation and special events

Thought to be Britain’s oldest continuously inhabited house

Contact us

Phone
+44 (0) 207 526 4852
Email
info@greattangleymanor.co.uk

More contact info »

Share your experience with other travellers.

Submit a review of your stay!

Bedrooms & Bathrooms

This content requires the Flash Player.
Get Adobe Flash player

After a relaxing walk through our gardens what better way to unwind than in our beautifully appointed bedrooms. More »

Gardens

This content requires the Flash Player.
Get Adobe Flash player

Our extensive gardens set in our magical victorian grounds are fully maintained and offer the perfect escape from the stresses of day to day life. More »

Brochure

iTour

All our pages